Vidhan Bhawan turns into fortress for Presidential polls

Vidhan Bhawan turns into fortress for Presidential polls

Vidhan Bhawan turns into fortress for Presidential polls

The EC has allowed 14 Rajya Sabha members and 41 Lok Sabha members to vote in state legislative assemblies instead of the Parliament. "Similarly, it has permitted 5 MLAs to exercise their vote in Parliament and 4 MLAs to vote in other State legislative Assemblies", the note added.

As per the election rules, political parties can not issue any whip to their MPs and MLAs for the presidential election. "The special pen will have to be returned to the polling staff. Voting by using any other pen will be held invalid (under Rule 31 (1) (d) of the Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Rules 1974)", an official was quoted as saying by the Times of India.

The value of votes of the MLAs and MPs of UP is the highest in the country.

MPs and MLAs will be provided with a special pen, which has a special ink, with which they will have to mark their preference from among the two candidates vying for the top post in the country.

Ander Herrera: I wanted Alvaro Morata as a team-mate at Manchester United
Real Madrid tried to unload James Rodríguez this summer, but they couldn't find any takers. "I believe [De Gea] is going to stay [at United]", Mata said.

The special pen will be taken back once the member comes out of the voting chamber. Former UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav is not eligible to vote as he is the member of the legislative council.

"Before entering into voting chamber, one polling staff, will collect personal pen, if any one is possessing and will give EC Special Pen to MPs/MLAs for marking ballot", a note by the EC read. The final results of the Presidential elections will be announced on Thursday. The presidential race, which will be hung on July 17, has Ram Nath Kovind as the applicant bolstered by the decision National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government and Meira Kumar - the primary lady to end up Lok Sabha speaker - as Opposition competitor.

Two ballot boxes along with ballot papers in two colours arrived in Bengaluru at the Vidhana Soudha on Sunday from Delhi. In Karnataka, the electoral college comprises 28 Lok Sabha members, 12 Rajya Sabha members and 224 MLAs.

Related news