Confirmed: Ireland Placed In Second Tier For UEFA Nations League

Confirmed: Ireland Placed In Second Tier For UEFA Nations League

Confirmed: Ireland Placed In Second Tier For UEFA Nations League

You may have heard the UEFA Nations League being mentioned today, the new competition will replace worldwide friendlies and Ireland have been placed in League B.

The very top sides in Europe also have a new biennial worldwide honour to compete for - the UEFA Nations League trophy; a three-match mini-tournament hosted at a single venue during June in the years between major finals.

UEFA first approved the tournament in 2014, and has made a decision to split the 55 countries into four so-called "leagues", based on its coefficient rankings.

The four leagues for the inaugural UEFA Nations League have been confirmed, with Croatia in League A with the likes of Germany, Spain, France, Portugal, and England.

The competition, which UEFA says will replace most worldwide friendlies, will be played in September, October and November 2018, with a group stage draw scheduled for next January.

Instead that will be delayed, and start in March 2019 and end in November of that year - the qualifying draw does not take place until December 2018.

A four-game finals tournament for the League A teams will be held in June 2019. Division "B" will be divided into four groups of three teams.

Giants' Marshall to undergo season-ending ankle surgery
Darius Powe is on the team's actual depth chart on their website , but he was signed to the practice squad to replace Rudolph. The Giants have promoted a few wide receivers and re-signed some players that have had some time with the team.

Ireland will be joined by Wales, Austria, Slovakia, Russia, Sweden, Ukraine, Bosnia, Northern Ireland, Demark, Turkey and the Czech Republic.

League C: Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia, Greece, Serbia, Albania, Norway, Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania.

This continues accordingly until each of the groups have four teams in the play-offs. The winners of each group will be promoted to league above and the losers will be relegated.

League A will consist of the 12 top-ranked teams.

League D: Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia, Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino, Gibraltar. The four group-winning teams in the division groups will progress to a final round to determine a champion.

Euro 2020 qualification will begin after the group stages of the Nations League concludes and will run throughout 2019, with the play-offs taking place the following Spring.

THE Uefa Nations League is set to get underway next year with England and Wales the leading home nations.

Related news