Nagaland elections: With a day left for nomination, 22 candidates file papers

Nagaland elections: With a day left for nomination, 22 candidates file papers

Nagaland elections: With a day left for nomination, 22 candidates file papers

Explaining the move, Union minister of state for home and BJP's Nagaland election in-charge Kiren Rijiju said, "We could not arrive at a seat-sharing agreement with our long-time ally NPF and hence, made a decision to form an alliance with the NDPP for the Nagaland Assembly election".

Guwahati: After the mainstream political parties like- the BJP, Congress, Naga People's Front (NPF) and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) backtracked from their earlier decision of not to participate in the elections and then announced that they would take part in the ensuing Nagaland assembly elections.

The list of candidates, released by AICC, incharge for the Central election committee Oscar Fernandes, includes names of W kholio kapfo from Dimapur I, khaminlung Tunglong from Dimapur III, Nahgavito Sumi from Ghaspani I, Nagakul Tase from Southern Angami, Dr Imavati Jamir from Aonglenden, It zung from Bhandari, Naowang konyat from Izit, Lanpha konyak from Tapi, Shabo konyak from Tehok, Chaokpa konyak from Tobu and Dr Aimong Lang from Nokyak.

Sources say that most of the political parties are prepared for the election but have not filed their nominations as it would be seen as a defiance of the call to boycott the election. The party has chose to contest 23 seats, most of its candidates being first-timers.

The core committee of civil organisations and tribal bodies and also the Naga insurgent groups had declared that anyone contesting the elections against "the wishes of the Naga people" would be branded as "anti-Naga". He attributed the delay in filing nominations to late declaration of candidates. "We did not authorise any party leader to sign an agreement".

Potential Reasons Why Malcolm Butler was Benched in the Super Bowl
Rowe, like many Patriots defenders, struggled in the game and said afterwards the team could've " definitely " used Butler's help. Bill Belichick told Michele Tafoya on NBC's broadcast, "I made the decisions that give us the best chance to win".

The Congress was the last to come out with its list on Tuesday afternoon.

He said the NDPP would contest 40 of the 60 seats in the state assembly while the BJP would field candidates in the remain 20 seats. BJP also discussed its poll strategy with Rijiju and the party workers were determined to win all the 20 seats, he added.

With elections to the 13th Nagaland Assembly dogged by uncertainty, the filing of nomination papers holds significance as 11 political parties in the state signed a joint declaration on January 29 to not contest the elections.

"No nomination paper is filed in the state till today", Sinha said.

The BJP has dumped its 15-year-old alliance partner, the ruling Naga People's Front.

Related news