UP by-polls: 43% voter turnout recorded in Gorakhpur till 5.00 pm

UP by-polls: 43% voter turnout recorded in Gorakhpur till 5.00 pm

UP by-polls: 43% voter turnout recorded in Gorakhpur till 5.00 pm

Voting for Araria Lok Sabha seat and Assembly Constituencies of Bhabua & Jehanabad: - Well, as you all may know that Bypolls on Lok Sabha seat and two assembly seats in Bihar is going on and votings are taking place today.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath cast his vote and flashed a victory sign after emerging out of a polling centre in Gorakhpur.

Speaking to reporters after casting his vote in the Gorakpur bypolls, the priest-turned-politician noted that the public believes in the mantra of development and governance given by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

In 2014 General Election, Adityanath had secured 5.39 lakh votes, while SP's Rajmati had got 2.26 lakh votes and BSP's Ram Bhuval 1.76 lakh. The BSP has extended its support to the SP candidates in both the seats whereas there are reports of tacit understanding of the Congress with the SP.

This is unedited, unformatted feed from the Press Trust of India wire.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) has fielded Praveen Nishad in Gorakhpur.

Nick Gordon Arrested For Domestic Violence
Gordon was found responsible in a wrongful death lawsuit and an Atlanta judge ordered him to pay $36 million to her estate. Last June, Gordon was arrested in Sanford , Florida , for domestic violence and kidnapping his girlfriend at the time.

Gorakhpur is the parliamentary constituency and stronghold of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. The Congress has nominated Sureetha Kareem for Gorakhpur and Manish Mishra for Phulpur Lok Sabha seat.

"Gorakhpur recorded a turnout of 43 per cent and Phulpur 37.39 per cent. Polling was peaceful and no untoward incidents related to law and order were reported", said the State election officer. But, they have only leaders who make statements.The voters of Mayawatiji have deserted the BSP and have reposed their faith in Modiji, Yogi and BJP. "We are winning both the Lok Sabha seats, and with wider margin", Maurya claimed.

By 12 noon, 31.25 percent voter turnout was recorded in Bihar's Araria constituency, 24.5 percent in Bhabhua and 28.6 percent in Jahanabad.

Phulpur parliamentary seat, which comprises five assembly segments, rural voters turned up in bigger number than urban voters.

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MP Mohammad Taslimuddin's death left the Araria seat vacant.

The death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav necessitated the bypoll for Jehanabad seat, and his son Uday Yadav is contesting for the seat.

Related news