WhatsApp Now Gives You More Than an Hour to Recall a Message

WhatsApp Now Gives You More Than an Hour to Recall a Message

WhatsApp Now Gives You More Than an Hour to Recall a Message

WhatsApp hasn't explained its reason for extending the time limit, but the new function could have a myriad of repercussions for users.

The time extension is a generous one compared to seven minutes when it was first implemented back in October.

The algorithm has been improved to perform the delete operation only if the current date is less than 24 hours of the date of the saved message. This change was also applied to recent WhatsApp for iOS and Windows Phone updates.

Conversely, if you want to have totally secure, private, and easily deleted conversations, check out DONTALK, which lets you retract sent messages and delete conversations from all recipients.

The app which introduced the "delete for everyone" feature previous year, allowed people to delete messages seven minutes after it was sent.

Sean Smith Will Plead Guilty to Assault Charge; Cut by Raiders
Aldon Smith pleaded not guilty Monday to all charges stemming from his recent domestic violence case, TMZ Sports reported . He allowed opposing quarterbacks to post a 116.5 passer rating when targeting him in 2016, according to SportRadar.

What's the worst message you've ever accidentally sent that you wish you could have deleted?

WhatsApp has increased the deadline for when a user can apply the "Delete for everyone" feature in a group or private message. This allows people to delete a message sent to groups or individuals, thereby removing the offending content and leaving recipients with only, "This message was deleted".

Facebook, which owns WhatsApp, has a "secret conversations" setting in its Messenger app for Android and iOS. There's no explanation for why the time limit has expanded so dramatically, so it looks like WhatsApp doesn't think this is a big enough feature to get singled out.

Will the deleted message disappear completely?

Related news